History of project

On 25 June 1992,the Heads of State and Government of eleven countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine signed in Istanbul the Summit Declaration and the Bosphorus Statement giving birth to the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC).

Mareas action is deeply rooted in the 1995 Athens Declaration of Ministers Responsible for Science and Technology of BSEC Member States. They declared their commitment to strengthen regional cooperation in the fields of scientific research and technological development as a major driving force of dynamic and sustainable economic growth and prosperity for the peoples of the region.

Mareas project is a part of Joint Operational Programme "BLACK SEA 2007-2013" of the 10 states participating in the Programme (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine) aimed at the development of the cross-border cooperation in the Black Sea region.

Archive of events

Login To The Forum

All rights reserved © 2013
Black Sea Joint Regional Research Centre for Mitigation and Adaptation to the Global Changes Impact
Developed by Julia Kolmogorova